GOK > HFWSecretariat > Mental Health Programme
Last modified at 02/02/2019 13:27 by System Account


Mental Health Programme

In Government Order No. 515 CGM 2002 dated 7.2.2002 setting up of mental health clinics in the district hospitals of Davanagere, Koppal, Gadag, Haveri, Chamarajanagar, Udupi and Bagalkot districts was sanctioned.  This plan budget scheme is continued during 2015-16. During 2004-05 the scheme was implemented in district hospitals of four districts namely Karwar, Chamarajanagar, Gulbarga and Shimoga. 

"Manasadhara"/Day Care Centre" as announced in the budget in the year 2013-14. have been set up in 13 districts Gadag, Mysore, Chickaballapura, Chickamagalur, Bijapur, Mangalore, Chamrajnagar, Bellary, Gulbarga, Davangere, Chitradurga, Belguam, Raichur.

Components of the scheme

  • Training of Medical Officers in PHC/CHC/GH and treatment of mentally ill patients at these centers
  • Training of Health workers for early identification of mentally ill, refer for treatment and follow-up.

As per the directions of the Honourable High Court of Karntaka, Writ appeal No: 18741/99/PIL "Mental Health Awareness Campaign" has been planned and conducted in all districts.

Karnataka State Mental Health Authority has been constituted.  Through Karnataka State Mental Health Authority "Monochinthana" Awarness programmes are broadcast on every Friday between 4.30 pm to 5.00 pm FM Vividabharathi, in Akashvani Bangalore.

District Mental Health Programme running in 4 district have been extended to 8 districts & to function as per 11th five year plan guidelines, Proposal has been sent to NHM for the release of funds.

For the service of Mental ill patients 108 Ambulance is available & 104 Sahayavani is functioning to give information those who are in need.

​Enhancing mental health of adolescents is a component under Rashtriya Kishor Swasthya Karyakram (RKSK) is included as an activity under National Health Mission Activities taken up under the Flexipool for Non-Communicable diseases including injury and trauma under Manasadhara Programme (Daycare centre) as a part of implementation of National Mental Health programme (NMHP).


​Details of activities taken up in the 18 District Hospitals from 2014-15 under Manasadara.

​Sl No.DistrictDate of establishmentName of NGONo. of patientsActivities done
1Bangaluru Urban10.09.2015Moksha Foundation5-
2Ballari05.11.2014Bethesda Rural Development Society40Taiiloring, Envelope making, wire bag, painting
3Vijayapura08.08.2014Sri Dhanamma Devi Mahila & Seva28-
4Belagavi01.11.2014K.L.E. Society40-
5Chamarajanagar01.03.2014Sahaya Trust638 
6Chikkaballlapura01.08.2014Pragati Rural Branch4916 
7Chitradurga02.12.2014Date Charitable Society22IEC Activities carried out in all the taluka in the district.
8Chikkamagaluru11.07.2014Anikethan Social Welfare Centre68Cover making, trailoring, mat making, flower making.
9Davanagere25.08.2014Adarsh Samaja Karya Samsthe272-
10Dakshina Kannada07.06.2014Nitte University1200 
11Gadag01.03.2014Karuna Gramina Ekikrutha Abivruddi Samsthe120-
12Kalburgi01.11.2014Mother Theresa Urban & Rural Development Society150Computer training, paper cover making.
13Hassan  12 
14HaveriSelection of NGO in Haveri is under process. ​
15Mandya26.05.2014St Jhonas Mission Society40NGO is running activities on its own.
16Mysore26.05.2014Karuna Trust100 
17Raichuru23.12.2014Ksha Kiran Charitable Trust7Computer training, paper cover making.
18YadgiriManasadhara day care centre is yet to be set up. ​



Content Owned and Maintained by :Health and Family Welfare Secretariat, Government of Karnataka

Disclaimer: Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations. The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Designed and Developed by: Center for e-Governance Government of Karnataka

©2016, All Rights Reserved.

pm india
CM Karnataka logo
nic logo